Proposal for regulation of PFAS and TFA

In July 2021, a "Registration of Intent" (RoI) for the EU Chemicals Regulation 1907/2006 REACH was filed. This RoI will be followed by a Dossier, a report documenting the harms of the chemicals targeted, on many fluorinated hydrocarbons. The Dossier shall be delivered in January 2023. After publication of the Dossier, persons, companies and associations have some months time to deliver their statements. Possible rules and regulations in REACH could become valid from 2025.

The RoI was delivered by 5 national European chemical agencies. In the definition it includes all substances with fully fluorinated carbon groups, meaning middle groups CF2 and end groups CF3. In total it is about 4000 .. 10000 chemicals.

These chemicals are either persistent in nature themselves, meaning very durable, or their breakdown products are persistent in nature. One of the breakdown products of many refrigerants is trifluoro acid or trifluoro acetic acid (TFA). This substance is washed out of the atmosphere by rain if it is formed from gases at relevant altitudes. It is very stable in the environment and can influence metabolic processes in organisms.

For refrigeration, use bans for the mentioned chemicals can create difficulties in several areas:

Listing these chemicals as substances of high concern in REACH can lead to ban of many uses, and even to significant limitations for applications or to high handling safety measures and qualification demands for the users. As the main target, the writers of the RoI name bans.

The additional regulation of refrigerants under REACH can limit the possibilities of the refrigeration industry to fulfil the demands of the F-Gas Regulation significantly.

Sources:

Substance Information - ECHA (europa.eu)

Registry of restriction intentions until outcome - ECHA (europa.eu)

Vorschlag zur Regulierung von PFAS und TFA

Im Juli 2021 wurde ein "Registration of Intent" (RoI) zur EU-Chemikalienverordnung 1907/2006 REACH eingereicht. Darin wird die Absicht erklärt, ein Dossier (einen Bericht zur Dokumentation der Schädlichkeit) zu vielen fluorierten Kohlenwasserstoffen zu erarbeiten. Das Dossier soll im Januar 2023 vorliegen. Ab der Veröffentlichung des Dossiers können Personen, Firmen und Verbände noch einige Monate lang Stellung nehmen. Mögliche Regelungen in REACH könnten ab 2025 gelten.

Das RoI geht von 5 nationalen europäischen Chemikalienbehörden aus. Es umfasst in der Definition alle Stoffe mit voll fluorierten Kohlenwasserstoffgruppen, also Mittelgruppen CF2 und Endgruppen CF3. In Summe geht es um 4000 .. 10000 Stoffe.

Diese Stoffe sind entweder selbst in der Umwelt persistent, also sehr dauerhaft, oder bilden persistente Verbindungen als Abbauprodukte in der Umwelt. Ein Abbauprodukt aus vielen Kältemitteln ist Trifluoressigsäure oder Trifluorazetat (TFA). Dieser Stoff wird mit Regen aus der Atmosphäre gewaschen, wenn er in entsprechender Höhe aus Gasen entstanden ist. Er ist in der Umwelt sehr stabil und kann den Stoffwechsel in Organismen stören.

Für die Kältetechnik kann es durch Verbote dieser Stoffe in mehreren Bereichen schwierig werden:

Eine Einstufung dieser Stoffe als besorgniserregend in REACH kann zum Verbot der Anwendung, zu erheblicher Begrenzung des Einsatzes oder zu strengen Anforderungen an die Nutzer führen. Vorrangig streben die Autoren des RoI Verbote an.

Diese zusätzliche Regelung von Kältemitteln unter REACH kann die technischen Möglichkeiten der Kältetechnik zur Erfüllung der Forderungen der F-Gase-Verordnung wesentlich einschränken.

Quellen:

Substance Information - ECHA (europa.eu)

Registry of restriction intentions until outcome - ECHA (europa.eu)