Material compatibility

Refrigerants can also be considered as a solvent, physically and chemically. They can also react with some substances and change chemically. Thus, the compatibility and applicability with the used construction materials has to be evaluated. In refrigerant circuits the refrigerants are in contact with many materials at widely varying temperatures and pressures. Inside the systems, there is oil, sealing and gasket material, steel, cast iron, copper, aluminium, zinc, bronze, brass, insulation plastic, slide coating, corrosion protection coating and many things more. Many component manufacturers test their gasket and insulation materials for compatibility with refrigerants and oils before release, carefully and with high investment of time.

Gaskets

Gaskets are used to ensure that the refrigerant does not leak out of the refrigeration system or they seal between parts with different pressures. They have to be compatible with the selected refrigerant and oil for long term operation.

The compatibility is investigated a.o. in autoclaves at varying temperature and pressure, with the gasket materials in refrigerant oil mixtures. Flat fibre gaskets and gaskets with metallic support are compatible with most chemicals, relevant for refrigerant use. Elastomer gaskets, often used for o-rings or shaft seals, have to be tested for compatibility. This means, for a given refrigerant, the matching materials have to be used.

Elastomers can change their properties in contact with refrigerant and oil. Typical changes are dwelling or shrinking, softening or hardening. These changes can only be accepted in a very limited amount in order to qualify as compatible.

An o-ring shrinking strongly would lead to leakage, a strongly dwelling one would result in deformation and limited operating life time. As o-rings made of elastomers are meant to be a flexible construction element, also hardness change is only acceptable within narrow limits.

Additionally, the refrigerant shall not be accumulated inside the elastomer because strong pressure changes, especially pressure drops, would let the material burst.

Bearings

Roller bearings are mostly made of high quality steel and are thus compatible to most refrigerants and oils without problems. Only the cages, holding the balls or rollers, and the cover plates might be made of plastic and probably have to be tested.

Hydrodynamic bearings are typically made of pairs of different metals. They often have bearing inlays made of material compounds or alloys, partly with plastic coatings in order to improve emergency running properties. These bearing types also have to be tested for applicability with the chosen refrigerants and oils.

Lubricants

In most refrigeration systems, the refrigerants work with oils that are chosen to be miscible in at least the biggest part of the system operating conditions. Due to this, the refrigerant with its significantly lower viscosity will dissolve partly in the oil, lowering the effective viscosity and thus worsening the lubricity. The oil to be chosen has to match the system and compressor design and the planned operating conditions and lubricate the compressor bearings reliably.

When releasing a refrigerant for a compressor, this will be investigated. Helpful for this is the establishing of solubility-viscosity diagrams, called Daniel plots. The oil will determine the application limits of a compressor together with the selected refrigerant.

The usually small amounts of oil transported out of the compressor with the refrigerant will have to be led back to the compressor to serve as lubricant. So, a certain amount of oil is circulating. Inside the oil reservoir of the compressor or oil separator, still enough oil has to be available for the lubrication. Non soluble or almost non soluble oils have to be separated from the refrigerant gas flow very effectively.

Soluble or miscible oils will be thinned at low temperatures by solved refrigerant and can thus be transported back to the compressor easier. Inside the compressor, the refrigerant amount in the oil has to be limited, to avoid bad lubrication.

Metals

Because there are many different metals in a refrigerant circuit, oil-refrigerant mixtures are checked not to react with these metals in an accelerated test. In the test, both substances should keep their properties stable. The testing is done in a "sealed tube test", in glass tubes closed by welding, at elevated temperature, e.g. at 175°C for 2 weeks. A change of the colour of the oil or the metal strips indicates a reaction and is thus considered a bad sign. Viskosity, acidity and water content are tested and possible degradation products of the refrigerant searched for.

Materialverträglichkeit

Kältemittel können physikalisch und chemisch auch als Lösungsmittel betrachtet werden. Sie können ebenfalls mit einigen Stoffen reagieren und sich verändern. Daher muss die Verträglichkeit und die Einsetzbarkeit mit den verwendeten Konstruktionselementen untersucht werden. In Kältemittelkreisläufen sind die Kältemittel vielen Materialien bei wechselnden Temperaturen und Drücken ausgesetzt. In Kreisläufen finden sich Öl, Dichtelemente, Stahl, Gusseisen, Kupfer, Aluminium, Zink, Bronzen, Messing, Isolierkunststoffe, Gleitbeschichtungen, Korrosionsschutzbeschichtungen und einiges mehr. Viele Komponentenhersteller prüfen ihre Dichtstoffe und Isolierstoffe vor der Freigabe sorgfältig und zeitaufwändig auf Kompatibilität mit den Kältemitteln und Ölen.

Dichtungen

Dichtungen werden eingesetzt, um das Kältemittel nicht aus dem Kältemittelkreislauf entweichen zu lassen oder zwischen Bereichen unterschiedlichen Druckes zu dichten. Sie müssen mit dem gewählten Kältemittel und dem passenden Öl dauerhaft kompatibel sein.

Die Kompatibilität wird u.a. in Autoklaven bei verschiedenen Temperaturen und Drücken mit den Dichtungsmaterialien in Öl-Kältemittel-Gemischen untersucht. Flachdichtungen mit Faserverstärkung und Metallträgerdichtungen sind verträglich mit den meisten Chemikalien, die als Kältemittel in Frage kommen. Elastomerdichtungen, häufig als O-Ringe oder Wellendichtungen eingesetzt, müssen auf Verträglichkeit geprüft werden. Zu einem Kältemittel muss also der richtige Werkstoff eingesetzt werden.

Elastomere können durch den Einsatz mit Kältemittel und Öl ihre Eigenschaften verändern. Typische Änderungen sind Quellen oder Schrumpfen, Erweichen oder Verhärten. Dieses Verhalten darf nur sehr begrenzt auftreten, damit das Material als kompatibel gilt.

Ein stark schrumpfender O-Ring würde zu Leckage führen, ein stark quellender zu Deformation und begrenzter Lebensdauer. Da O-Ringe aus Elastomeren bewusst als flexibles Konstruktionselement gewählt werden, darf auch die Härte nur wenig beeinflusst werden.

Des Weiteren darf sich das Kältemittel nur begrenzt im Elastomer einlagern, da es sonst bei schnellen Druckänderungen, insbesondere Druckabsenkungen, aufplatzen kann.

Lager

Wälzlager bestehen meist aus hochwertigen Stählen, die mit den meisten Kältemitteln und Ölen ohne Probleme kompatibel sind. Lediglich Käfige für die Kugeln oder Abdeckscheiben können aus Kunststoffen sein und müssen ggf. geprüft werden.

Gleitlager bestehen zum einen typisch aus Gleitpaarungen unterschiedlicher Metalle und haben häufig Lagerschalen aus Verbundstoffen oder Legierungen, teilweise mit Kunststoffbeschichtungen zur Verbesserung der Notlaufeigenschaften. Diese Lager müssen auf Verwendbarkeit mit den vorgesehenen Kältemitteln und Ölen geprüft werden.

Schmierstoffe

In den meisten Kälteanlagen arbeiten die Kältemittel mit Ölen zusammen, mit denen sie zumindest im größten Teil des Arbeitsbereiches mischbar sind. Dadurch löst sich das wesentlich dünnflüssigere Kältemittel etwas im Öl und senkt die Viskosität, verringert also die Schmierfähigkeit. Es muss ein Öl gewählt werden, das zur Konstruktion der Anlage und des Verdichters sowie den vorgesehenen Betriebsbedingungen passt und die Lager des Verdichters zuverlässig schmiert.

Bei der Freigabe eines Kältemittels für einen Verdichter wird das untersucht. Dazu werden möglichst Löslichkeits-Viskositäts-Diagramme erstellt, die sich Daniel-Plots nennen. Das Öl bestimmt die Einsatzgrenzen eines Verdichters mit einem bestimmten Kältemittel mit.

Die meist geringen Mengenanteile des mit dem Kältemittel mitgeförderten Öles müssen wieder zum Verdichter zurück, um dort für Schmierung zu sorgen. Ein gewisser Anteil Öl ist also im Umlauf. Im Ölvorrat des Verdichters oder Ölabscheiders muss noch genug für die Schmierung vorhanden sein. Unlösliche oder nahezu unlösliche Öle müssen in Ölabscheidern sehr sorgfältig aus dem Gasvolumenstrom abgeschieden werden.

Lösliche Öle werden durch Einlösen des Kältemittels bei tiefen Temperaturen einfacher wieder aus dem Verdampfer zurück zum Verdichter gefördert. Im Verdichter darf der Kältemittelanteil im Öl jedoch das Öl nicht zu sehr verdünnen.

Metalle

Da in Kältemittelkreisläufen viele verschiedene Metalle vorkommen, wird das Öl-Kältemittel-Gemisch auch in einem Zeitraffertest auf Reaktion mit Metallen geprüft. Dabei sollen beide Substanzen ihre Eigenschaften möglichst behalten. Die Prüfung geschieht im "sealed tube test" in versiegelten Glasröhrchen bei erhöhter Temperatur, z.B. bei 175°C für 2 Wochen. Eine Verfärbung des Öls oder der Metallproben deutet auf eine Reaktion hin und ist daher ein schlechtes Zeichen. Die Viskosität, der Säureanteil und der Wasseranteil werden geprüft und mögliche Spaltprodukte des Kältemittels gesucht.